About News Download Docs Forum Bugs Contact





Jeremy Kajikawa

IRC nick(s): Belxjander / Beljander

Role in SMGL: General Elementalist ( Grimoire / Cauldron / Security[my focus] / …)

Age/Birthdate: 30

Location/Country: New Zealand


When did you first start using Linux and why?

I never liked Windows to begin with so I choose to use other operating systems where available.

How long have you been using the SMGL distribution?

I have stayed with SMGL ever since I burned my first Rescue disc [ about 20020116 or some such ].

What piqued your interest in SMGL initially?

I first heard about it from someone on IRC before the name change from "Sorcerer" to "Source Mage".

What future do you personally see for SMGL?

I like it but I don't think "long term" about such things normally,

[+5Y]: I am thinking the future is with the users who give us direction and the growth of the distribution

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Education/Career/Skills?

[5years late]: my education is mostly self-taught around computer engineering, from some basic electronics upto system building to a purpose through networking and fundamental programming, I have also taught myself to be able to program with any given language after being given a 1 page summary to read in 1 or 2 hours and use of a function reference to write a complete program, I have done this as a challenge with a friend one time and produced a complete program in under 4 hours with a new programming language I learned to use at the same time.

Any personal messages for the Source Mage users out there?

there are more people using Source Mage? like, wow, hello… hope you don't mind a paranioa freak handling the security :-) [+5Y]

What other OS programs/software have you worked on?

I also develop for the Amiga OS when my A4000 workstation is at hand to do so.

[+5Y]: the Amiga situation has meant I now no longer have any Amiga workstations and spend the majority of my time focused on Linux and Source Mage specifically


vi or emacs?

neither really, jed


these are different and who doesn't install them both?


I honestly don't have an opinion about this at this time.

Strictly personal

Do you have any family?

yes, and keep my siblings and parents away from me :-)

[+5Y]: I have also met the love of my life and will be starting a family once I sort out a stable job situation

[+6Y]: Now married and starting that family, Im *making* my own work instead of finding work :-)

What kind of car do you drive? Or what is your dream car?

I don't have a car… I don't care for such things :-) [+5Y]: I am still more focused and feel to walk or use a bicycle instead of a car.

I've just never felt any need to have or own a car